Nelson & His World

Discussion on the life and times of Admiral Lord Nelson
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:57 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Lady Hamilton's Black Maid
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:29 pm 

I am interested in finding information on what happened to Lady Hamilton's Black Maid, Fatima who came from Egypt. This all started in 2004 when I was writing an article called The Admiral, The Mistress and The Maid about Nelson's Surrey connectionon for the Surrey Museums Group Newsletter, I work as a volunteer at the Museum of Farnham and knew of the story that Emma was rumoured to have stayed at Farnham after Merton was sold and Fatima died in Bear Lane Workhouse. It is unlikely Emma lived in Farnham and Fatima could not have died in Farnham Workhouse because it was in Hale Road at that time. I know she went to a Workhouse, which is referred to as Bear Lane in various books (but which Bear Lane, London perhaps?) went mad and was sent to St Luke's Hospital where she died. I am trying to fnd out if there is any evidence that she went to Richmond, Surrey with Emma after Merton was sold to try and put a date to when she would have been sent away. The Richmond History Society do not have anything, only confirmation Emma lived at Heron House ( known as Herring House) which belonged to Old Q (Duke of Queensbury) Also I read in Caole Orman's (sorry can't recall the proper surname) book Nelson published about 1947 that Horatia remembered she was told Fatima came fron a slave ship and the fateful day when Cripp (the head gardner at Merton) took Fatima away to the Workhouse and then to St Lukes. The author used quotes but unfortunately did not provide any source. I have looked at some papers at the National Maritime Museum including Horatia's letters and they do not mention Fatima and I was wandering if any one has any ideas or have read anything. I would also like to know if anyone can help, about Lord Gordon who wrote a verse about Fatima. The books I